Natural Monuments in Andalucia

At the end of 201 The Andalucian government has increased its natural monuments by nine taking the total to 49 protected spots. These can be peñas - hills, fuentes, meandros and riberas - river sources, meanders and banks, tajos - cliffs, and cuevas -caves, all of which are protected and signposted.

The nine new monuments, five are in Malaga province:

Tajos del Alcazar, Alcaucin
Cueva del Gaton Benaojan
Cuenca del Rio Turon viewpoint, El Burgo
Source of the River Genal, Igualeja
Source of the River Guadalhorce - Fuente de los Cien Caños, Villanueva del Trabuco.

Four in other provinces:

La Peña de Arcos de la Frontera, Cadiz
El Meandro del Guadalquivir, Montoro, Cordoba
Los Tajos, Alhama de Granada
Ribera del Guadaira, Alcala de Guadaira, Sevilla

The new status gives extra protection for natural features like dunas -dunes, islotes - small islands and centuries-old trees like the Natural Monument de Queijigo in Jaén.

To become a ´natural monument´ they must be well-preserved, accessible to the public, recognized as special by local citizens and have be protected.

So now there are even more places to explore!

Popular Posts